Resistance and Criticism

Here is another excerpt from Steven Pressfield’s The War of Art:

If you find yourself criticizing other people, you’re probably doing it out of Resistance.  When we see others beginning to live their authentic selves, it drives us crazy if we have not lived out our own.

Individuals who are realized in their own lives almost never criticize others.  If they speak at all, it is to offer encouragement.  Watch yourself. Of all the manifestations of Resistance, most only harm ourselves. Criticism and cruelty harm others as well.”

I love the idea that those who are realized in their own lives almost never criticize others, and I believe it to be true.

Has criticism of others shown up in your life as a form of resistance? This is a yes or no question~no “Yes, BUTs…” allowed. I will definitely admit I can answer yes to this question (very much a work in progress here), and I can also say next time the voice of criticism starts to sneak in, I will be calling it out for what it is: a form of resistance in me. As much as we sometimes like to kid ourselves, it’s hardly ever really about the other person, huh?

Shine Brightly,

Leslie ~Sparkling Yogini

This entry was posted in books, Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Resistance and Criticism

  1. Kristin says:

    Very interesting…I believe that many people are critical, it’s sad so many people are not realized in their own lives. This is definitely something I have improved on after becoming a mother, and I’m really sure why that is. There just seemed to be so many more important things. I found myself criticizing a competing team this past weekend. I said that they were so cocky and full of themselves, one team member even plays barefoot. The gal I was speaking with is very much her authentic self did not contribute and changed the subject. Her reaction really made me think, why did I feel I needed to say negative things about this team, that really, did I know that much about them? I am still not sure, if I was trying to take away from their success or what. Also, I used to play this team pre-child and admittedly was much more critical then, prehaps it was old habit creeping back. I am not sure, I look forward to critisizing less as I grow older and wiser:)

  2. kalanlewis says:

    great post. very timely for me.

Thanks so much for sharing your shine & leaving some comment love!

