Creative Spark & Mala Making

How would you answer the following question:

Are you creative?

There was a time in my life when I would have answered this question with a confident, “No~not anymore.” However, I now 100% believe that we are all creative beings.  We were created to be that way. (Read Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way if you don’t believe me.) If you think back to childhood, you most likely have memories of creating…painting, drawing, writing stories, coloring, etc.  And then, one day, perhaps you stopped. In some ways I believe the educational system plays a part in this~through elementary school we took art and music classes every year, we were encouraged to write creatively both poems and short stories, then Junior High came and for the most part creative encouragement and expression slowed greatly or even completely stopped. Then as we grow up, life begins to get in the way~or so we tell ourselves.

The truth is, if you aren’t expressing yourself creatively and you don’t have some kind of regular creative outlet, you probably aren’t living your authentic life to the fullest or shining brightly on others. The world needs your creativity. The good news is you can do something about that today! You just have to light that Creative Spark again.  Find your muse by bookstore browsing, watching HGTV, flipping through magazines, surfing on www.pinterest.com, watching youtube vides, taking a walk in nature, listening to music~whatever works for you. Inspiration is everywhere.  Once you are feeling inspired, ACT, and if you’re not feeling inspired, ACT anyway! If you still need more ideas choose one of these:

*start a blog*cook a gourmet meal*make jewelry*plant a garden*bake*arrange flowers*play an instrument*dance*go through your wardrobe and create new outfits*paint*draw*art journal*create a vision board*play with make-up*do some landscaping*decorate a room*knit*sew*write*create a new yoga sequence*make a creative playlist on itunes*take something old and turn it into something new*make soap*get out your camera and shoot some photographs*(the ideas are truly endless here)

This past week, I’ve been lighting my creative spark by making mala necklaces. As I’ve mentioned before I love being adorned with meaningful jewelry, so I decided to make some.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ve been meaning to make some malas for a long while now, but up until this point, I hadn’t acted because the voice of resistance was there: I don’t know how to make a mala. I need someone to teach me how. I don’t know enough about malas to make one perfectly. I might not be able to find the beads I want. The voice of resistance can go on and on and on. At some point, to silence that voice, you just have to jump in and ACT. It’s really that simple.

So, share with me…How are you going to get your Creative Spark lit this week?

Shine Brightly,

Leslie ~Sparkling Yogini

This entry was posted in books, Creativity, Inspiration, Mantra, Sparkle, Sparkle & Shine and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Creative Spark & Mala Making

  1. ….or, just get out the crayons.

    First, folks have the fear that they aren’t creative, because creativity is for “special people”.

    Second, if they get past the first part, people feel like they must be making some kind of significant, grown-up art. That’s fine, if that’s what you’re drawn to at the moment, but there’s also a great deal of joy, healing and stress release in the simple types of creativity.

    Borrow your child’s Play-Doh. Cut out pictures from magazines and collage like a maniac.

    Or buy yourself the 64 count box of Crayola crayons. With the sharpener. Then get out some paper and let your spirit play….

    Catherine
    Foresight

  2. Robyn says:

    The last part of this blog was meant to be read by me, I can not believe it was coincidence, as the words you wrote are exactly what I needed to read, to get myself to act. I have been aching to do something but keep thinking of the “what ifs”, the vague possibilities of what could go wrong in the future, and they have crippled me with doubt and fear. But I am stifling my true self if I don’t speak up, if I don’t act, if I don’t do what my spirit is fighting to do already! Thank you for this post!

  3. Pingback: July Favorites ~2011 | Sparkling Yogini ~Leslie Kersha

Thanks so much for sharing your shine & leaving some comment love!

