100% Yes & Absolute No

Last week, in the midst of scheduling and enrolling new students, my counseling partner asked me if I wanted to co-facilitate a teacher workshop session this week for our faculty on the topic of Self-Care. Without hesitation, I said yes. If you haven’t noticed from reading this blog, I am passionate about the topic of living our shiniest, brightest lives ever~and a big part in being able to do that is taking care of ourselves.

Now, there was a time when I would have perhaps hesitated before saying yes, and maybe even declined.  I had so much to do in a short amount of time.  But, here’s the thing…this summer I decided to shift my focus during the school year from time-management (because time is always spread way too thin during the school year), to energy management, and I knew working on this presentation would energize me and fill me up.

We all need to create our own 100% Yes list~those things that we say yes to (even if we may not think we have the time) because they make us come alive and excite and energize us. We must honor those yearnings in ourselves and go for it! If opportunities to use our passions and gifts don’t seem to be coming along, we must create those opportunities. It is really that important.

On the flip side of this, I’ve also started creating an Absolute No list.  The first item on my list is:  No more rushing.  If you were to see me walk through the halls during a typical school day (even if I was just going to do something simple like fill up my water bottle), you would see me moving a mile a minute~as if my bum was on fire~seriously.  And, I know as well as anyone, our bodies believe what we tell them, and the way I was moving was signaling to my body I wasn’t safe and it needed to be in stress mode.  I know this is not a healthy way to move and be.  So, I decided to put this on my Absolute No list and put my money where my mouth is.  I made a deal with a co-worker, who often teased me in the halls when he saw me moving so quickly, yelling at kids and adults alike to “Get out of the way because Mrs. Kersha is coming”), that I would give him a quarter every time he caught me rushing around this school year. I’m not going to do it anymore. Period.

100% Yes’s & Absolute No’s are so important to identify in order to live a bright and energized life.

What’s on your 100% Yes list?

What’s on your Absolute No list?

If you want to have a shining, full, long, healthy, happy life, taking care of yourself isn’t overindulgence. It isn’t selfish. It is a requirement.

Breathe Deeply & Shine Brightly,

Leslie ~Sparkling Yogini

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Sparkle, Sparkle & Shine and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 100% Yes & Absolute No

  1. Pingback: Full & Fabulous | Sparkling Yogini ~Leslie Kersha

Thanks so much for sharing your shine & leaving some comment love!

