Self-Care 101 Part 2

Self-Care is not only about choosing behavior, it’s also about the way we think and our beliefs.  In order to keep stress levels low, we need to pay attention to our thought process and beliefs. Many of our beliefs were ingrained in us from childhood. We are adults, and do not have to continue to believe these thoughts that do no serve us anymore!

Reflect on the following statements.  Are they true?  Sometimes true and sometimes false? Or False?

When people get upset, I am usually the peace-maker.

I believe my self-worth is determined by how others perceive me.

When I am exposed to conflict, I feel overly responsible for it.

I believe my self-worth is defined by my achievements.

I can be so focused on others’ needs, I lose sight of my own perceptions, interests, and desires.

I rarely ask for support or help.

I often feel “used up” at the end of the day.

I take work home frequently. (Physically, mentally, or emotionally)

I am willing to sacrifice my needs in order to please others.

When I say, “No,” I feel guilty.

I become anxious when I think I’ve disappointed someone.

I have difficulty saying, “No” and setting healthy boundaries.

When I make mistakes, I mentally beat myself up for it.

I strive for perfection in all that I do.

I have difficulty expressing my differing opinion in the face of an opposing viewpoint.

If many of these statements are true for you, your thinking is most likely resulting in higher levels of stress and anxiety in your life.  DO NOT beat yourself up for that~that’s like throwing grease on a fire.  Know that awareness is the first step in change.  Start to question some of these beliefs. Treat yourself compassionately and with love.

Remember~You are whole. There is nothing missing or lacking. When we truly believe this, we can reconnect with our natural inner state of peace.

Which statements resonated most for you as being a mindset which can contribute to high anxiety and/or stress in your life?  How can you start to reframe these thoughts and beliefs?

Breathe Deeply & Shine Brightly,

Leslie ~Sparkling Yogini

*resource: myselfcare.org

This entry was posted in Personal Empowerment, Self-Care, Self-Help, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks so much for sharing your shine & leaving some comment love!

