Self-Lovapalooza

Today I attended a workshop about understanding the adolescent brain.  While science was never my favorite subject, when someone can break down neuroscience in an understandable way, I find it completely fascinating. One of the main points made today was that whatever the brain does a lot of is what it gets good at. 

So, what does this have to do with self-love? When we get in the habit of negative and critical thought processes about ourselves, it can become challenging to break free.  It begins to feel natural and normal and even right to beat ourselves up mentally. Self-negativity becomes the norm. The good news is that we can practice changing our thoughts to more self-loving ones, and the more we do it, the more these thoughts create a new norm (a little re-wiring of the brain, so-to-speak).

Everytime I bring up the words positive affirmations, my mind immediately goes back to the Saturday Night Live skits with Stuart Smalley standing in front of a mirror saying, “I’m good enough. I’m smart enough. And, doggone it, people like me.” And while I appreciate the humor in this, I fully believe positive affirmations, over time, work.    The key is to use them enough you start to believe them.  Then, once you believe them, you start to feel them in your body. And, once you get to that feeling space, you act in ways that allow you to fully spread your love and light out into the world!

So, let’s have a little self-lovapalooza here!  Think, write, and say (over and over and over)any of the following whenever you find your negative, self-critical mind creeping into those nasty, habitual patterns. Use your breath to help ground and center and calm yourself, and integrate the thoughts more into your body. 

(Breathe in) I treat myself with love & compassion. (Exhale & trust)

(Breathe in) I make choices that honor myself. (Exhale & trust)

(Breathe in) My heart is open and full. (Exhale & trust)

(Breathe in) I am worthy. (Exhale & trust)

(Breathe in) I am enough. (Exhale & trust)

(Breathe in) I am love. (Exhale & trust)

Peace, Love, & Light,

Leslie ~Sparkling Yogini

*Dr. David Walsh was the presenter at the workshop today.  I highly recommend anyone who has kids or works with kids, check him out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks so much for sharing your shine & leaving some comment love!

